Gov. Abbott Declares Disaster in Bowie, Cass, Red River Counties

TX Governor SealOn May 11, Governor Abbott issued Emergency Disaster Proclamations for several counties in response to the severe weather, tornado and flooding event that began on May 4. Since then, he has updated the proclamation three times – May 15, May 25, and today, May 26.

The current list of counties is: Archer, Bastrop, Blanco, Bosque, Bowie, Caldwell, Cass, Clay, Collin, Comal, Cooke, Denton, Dewitt, Eastland, Fannin, Gaines, Garza, Grayson, Grimes, Guadalupe, Harris, Harrison, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hill, Hood, Houston, Jasper, Johnson, Kendall, Montague, Navarro, Newton, Nueces, Parker, Red River, San Jacinto, Smith, Van Zandt, Walker, Wichita, Williamson, Wilson, Wise, and Zavala counties.

These proclamations authorize the use of “all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary” to assist the affected areas. In addition, upon written approval of the Office of the Governor, “any normal rules and procedures of state agencies that would in any way prevent, hinder or delay necessary action in coping with this disaster shall be suspended.”

Disaster Proclamation

Thanks for reading! Scroll down for comments ▼

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.