Recent Articles

Miller County Arkansas Early Vote Starts October 19

Miller County will start the early vote process for the general election on October 19 with several early vote locations open during that time. Miller County, AR: Thirteen days prior to November 3, 2020, General Election, Miller County Arkansas will open early vote at several locations. There will be no early voting at the courthouse this year. The Miller County Election’s Commission in coordination with the Miller County Judge determined that social distancing and safety for voters could not be adequately met on a large scale in the courthouse. The Cabe Fellowship Center located at First Methodist Church, 400 East 6th Street will serve as a replacement location for the courthouse. According to Miller County Election’s Commissioner Linda Crawford, the Cabe Fellowship location offers a larger space for social distancing and the opportunity to put out additional voting equipment.

Cabe Fellowship Center located at First Methodist Church 400 East 6th, Texarkana, Arkansas will be open throughout the early vote period with the following hours:

Monday, October 19 – Friday, October 23, 8:00am to 6:00pmSaturday, October 24 – 10:00am to 4:00 pmMonday, October 26 – Friday, October 30, 8:00am to 6:00pmSaturday, October 31, 10:00am to 4:00 pmMonday, November 2, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Four other early vote locations will be open on Thursday & Friday, October 29 & 30, 8:00 am to 6:00 pm and Monday, November 2, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. 

Central Baptist Church, 2117 East 35th, Texarkana, AR

Stanley Davis Community Center, 203 East Redcut Road, Fouke, AR

Sugar Hill United Methodist Church, 1621 Sugar Hill Road, Texarkana, AR

Jamison Centers of Kindness, 1101 Couch Street, Texarkana, AR

Early voting and Election Day polls are all vote centers.  All Miller County registered voters may vote at any of the early vote or at the thirteen election day poll locations. Continue Reading →

Filed under: , , ,

Texarkana Arkansas School District Wraps Up 2017 Elections

Texarkana, AR – The Texarkana Arkansas School District wrapped up election night this evening with a win for the district with the School Tax issue that will ensure a new school in the district. Supporters of the measure had stressed that the School Tax would not change with a win or a loss in the election; however, without the win there would be no funds toward the building of a new, needed school in the district. The unofficial counts showed 1,116 for the School Tax and 282 against the tax. Jesse Buchanan ran unopposed for the school board seat in Zone 3. There were two contested races, once for Zone 5 and one for Zone 6. Unofficial totals have Chrystal Marlar defeating Laney Harris by 246 to 184 for Zone 5. In Zone 6 the official totals has Roger Douglas defeating Lissa Henry by 109 to 57. There are 10,895 registered voters of the seven precincts involved in the school election. 1,407 turned out to vote. Results will be certified by the Miller County Elections Commission Monday at 5:00 p.m.


  Continue Reading →

Filed under: , , ,